She wore an Itsy-Bitsy-Teeny-Weeny Black Polka-Dot Bikini!!

2 Jan

One of my proudest moments! Photo credit: Liana Saadi Photography

This summer, I was feeling at the top of my game! My training had hit it’s all time high (or so I thought) until a good friend of mine who is also a personal trainer, Sophie Morin, tossed the idea of competing in a Bodybuilding competition my way.

Let’s take a step back and look at this for a sec….6 years ago, I weighed in at approximately 250 lbs. Fast forward to 2010 to having someone tell me I should consider competing in a Bikini Competition;  can somebody pinch me please?! I can say that Soph approaching me with the idea was one of the greatest compliments someone could have given me! This being said, I wasn’t 100% sold on the idea for the following reasons:

  • Losing over 100 lbs can bring on certain “side effects” to the composition of your body (stretch marks, loose skin, oh and did I mention I have no chest now that I’ve lost the weight…ya…they’re gone! Lol!);
  • Standing in front of a panel of individuals whose sole job is to criticize how you look in a bikini isn’t the most appealing of ideas for most. The “Fat Girl” inside me screamed at me daily for this one.

Regardless of the cons, the pros outweighed them heavily (ahahaha! I love when metric play on words fit nicely into my posts! It makes me feel witty! Lol!) PLUS I was supposed to do my groceries that day, so I thought to myself I might as well pick up the foods I was going to need for my program instead of wasting a shopping trip…Am I right?! LOL! You may think I’m joking, but that was one of my pros!! No word of a lie!

So I was in!! And incredibly excited! I felt like training for the competition was going to bring me to a whole new level of fitness and healthy living, it would help boost my confidence and I could use the program as therapy for everything that I was going through with my separation. I love training and eating healthy has become easy for me so I knew that those things wouldn’t be an issue. Also, because I only had to take care of myself (single living and no chil’en! Lol!) I could put the time in that was going to be required for the program.

Our team consisted of 3 Figure ladies (Heather Brazeau, Cathy Lee and Sophie Morin) and 1 Bikini Lady (Me!). The other 3 ladies have competed before and Heather has actually placed! The competition in sight was the Musletech OPA London Championships scheduled to take place on November 27th. We started training in August and scheduled weigh-ins once a week. My stats on the first day of the program were the following:

  •  Weight: 145.2 lbs
  • Body Fat %: 14.6%

Measurements:

  • Neck: 12 inches
  • Chest: 34 inches
  • Waist:28  inches
  • Belly Button: 32.75 inches
  • Hips: 34.5 inches
  • Thighs: 29 inches
  • Biceps: 11 inches

The 13 week program Soph created for the team had 4 phases; Weeks 13 through 9, 9-5, 5 weeks out and the last week. Food consisted of Oats, Egg Whites Chicken, Tilapia, Veggies and brown rice and yams and water base protein shakes for the first couple of weeks. Eventually the carb intake was phased out and asparagus became a staple. TONS of water (6 litres plus a day) was a must and I got to have one cheat meal a week. The food really wasn’t an issue because it was already very close to what I already included in my daily menu, although I must admit I believe I emptied all oceans of Tilapia and gave at least 3 chicken farms 3 years worth of business! The following items were a MUSTT in my everyday living and if you DARED to touch, question or take of them, be prepared for the look of death!!

  • Sugar-Free Extracare Peppermint Gum (At least a pack a day…and if you asked for a gum I would actually have to think about it)
  • Becel Zero Cal, Zero Fat, Zero Carb Spray Butter Flavor (LIQUID GOLD!!)
  • Crystal Light
  • Mustard
  • No sodium spices (ALL Mrs Dash Flavors, Cayenne, Cinnamon)

Former Big Girl Transforms into Bikini Competitor Photo credits: Liana Saadi Photography

The workouts were a little longer than what I was used to. Before the program I would be in the gym during my lunch hour then go for a run later on that night. Due to scheduling and driving distance to the gym, I ended up having to break my workout up and do some of it from home but I managed and made sure I got all of it done. Closer to competition I was working out 3 hours a day.  My body responded really well to the diet and exercise, in fact Soph made me implement a Tbsp of Olive Oil in my breakfast, lunch and dinner because my body fat had dropped to 10.1% 7 weeks in! That’s pretty much stage ready and not a healthy % to sustain for extended periods of time.

Seeing as it was my first time competing and I’m someone who is a self-admitted perfectionist, I researched Bikini Model competitions, criteria for physic, Bikini Competitors, etc. I had so many questions and concerns, especially considering it was my first time competing. You would be amazed at what you’re putting your body through when you train for something like this!! It’s not only a physical game, but mentally, you need to be prepared for something like this and have a good group of people around you who are understanding and supportive!!  I know I annoyed the shit out of Soph who I’m positive regretted getting me involved in the program with all my questions and concerns, but she did her best to answer and ease any stress that I had. She was a trooper about it that’s for sure! Lol!

Hormones fluctuate, moods swing, patience can be nearly non-existent and fatigue sets in if you don’t get enough rest. I found myself getting impatient with things I used to be fine with. For example: Normally I don’t mind people asking me questions about what I eat, especially since there was such a huge transformation from my heaviest. But I can’t tell you how SICK I was of hearing “Why don’t you just eat something!” or “Oh, just eat whatever, it’s not gonna kill ya!” Time and time again I would tell people I was probably eating more than the average man!! Sure the calorie, carb and fat intake was not very high, but I was eating every 2-3 hours up until 8pm at night….so don’t worry, I’m eating!! Towards the end I was eating over 30 oz of meat daily!! That’s a hell of a lot of meat!!

Throughout the 13 weeks I started posting “Phantom Smell of the Day” on my Facebook page. It all started because I would randomly smell things I couldn’t eat (which were never a thought in my mind until I was actually in a position were I wasn’t ALLOWED to have any of it). Chocolate, Wine, Cake, Ribs…I could peg out delicious smells like it was nobody’s business!! I would post random thoughts about the upcoming competition or my training and throw in a phantom smell which boosted bakery sales all over the province!! People started telling me to cut it out because they would actually go find these desserts or foods cause they read it on my page that day! But my people stuck by me and my posts! 🙂 At first I was just posting the smells because I thought it was funny that this was happening, but then they became a friendly reminder that I enjoy these foods and it will be ok if I want to sample some of them (in moderation of course!) once the competition was over. A small does of daily therapy if you will!

Due to personal struggles that I was dealing with during the program (financial stress, putting my house up for sale, home renovations, oh and separation and the first steps of divorce were a biggy!) I was a little more fatigued than I should have been, but I pulled through. As I’ve mentioned before, the program actually became the only thing that was guaranteed and stable in my life during that time.

I grew increasingly excited when the competition approached!! I couldn’t believe I was about to do something like that! Closer to competition I was very worried about my stretch marks and loose skin, but realized there was really nothing I could do about that. I would say those are the two things that I’m extremely self-conscious about and am told constantly that it’s barely even noticeable and I realize that. This being said, I wouldn’t mind one day having corrective surgery to fix these things, but the cost is obviously an issue! So for now, I forced myself to be content with the amazing transformation I’ve accomplished….being healthy and happy with a couple of stretch marks is a million times better than being overweight and that much closer to death!

Stage Debut Photo Credit: Liana Saadi Photography

The last week before comp I really leaned out and started the dehydration process, which made my parents cry every time they saw me for fear that I was anorexic and on the brink of death. Trish, my stepmom kept saying “I JUST WANT TO FEED YOU!!!” My Dad felt it necessary to keep her away from me so that she didn’t cry herself to sleep every night. That last week is when the fact that this is an extreme sport becomes reality. Sweat sessions (cardio and saunas) in multiple layers of flannel pj pants and sweatshirts, decreasing the water intake…it’s shrink-wrapping your body! How much more extreme can you get?!

Competition: Not the most glamorous of things! Spray Tan…cold, sticky, patchy, no deodorant or shower…in a nutshell, pretty f’in gross! I actually had some deodorant remnants that on me that ended up turning my pits green…who wants to make out with me now?! Any takers?? No??…K… Makeup…DRAGALICIOUSLY FANTASTIC AND THICK!! Outfit…Butt tape, 6 inch clear stripper heals, smallest string bikini I own (which my amazing Sister-in-law, Roya Poorsasan made!)…actually, I didn’t mind any of that! Lol! I think I pulled it off!

Stats:

  • Weight: 123 lbs
  • Body Fat%: 8.9%

Measurements: (approximate cause they were taken a couple of days after competition so I’m sure they were less)

  • Neck: 12 inches
  • Chest: 31 inches
  • Waist: 24.5 inches
  • Belly Button: 29 inches
  • Hips: 29.75 inches
  • Thighs: 29 inches
  • Biceps: 10 inches

    That's Me Bum! Photo Credit: Liana Saadi Photography

The experience was amazing!! I loved it! Throughout all the things I’ve accomplished in my life, I’ve always felt like I’ve done a good job and patted myself on the back…but when I walked off stage I knew what feeling proud of myself actually felt like. It was such an amazing sense of accomplishment that I’ve never felt before, it almost brought me to tears! It didn’t matter how I placed, just the fact that I was able to walk out on stage without a bat of an eyelash and strut my shit proudly was enough for me! I ended up placing 14th out of 16 (Not last place!! WOO HOO!!! *HIGH FIVE*) I spoke to a couple of the judges and they offered me some great criticism and points to work on for next competition. They actually said I was too lean and needed to invest in some inserts for my chest….to which I replied “Uh, I actually was wearing some…” and received “Well then get some more and bigger ones.” as a response. Any body want to sponsor breast augmentation?!? Anyone?! But they were all points that are definitely things I can improve!

Coming out of competition mode was difficult for me. I researched off-season programs like crazy but just adding water and the little carbs and fats back into my meals made me feel puffy and I hated it! Think about it: I have spent the last 6 years trying to lose weight and now I actually have to put it back on!! I don’t think so!! That’s very difficult mentally! But let me say this: I can read my body like a book now! I know how it reacts to any different kind of foods that I eat that it’s not normal too! This Christmas I had extra Holiday Carbs and I actually felt shaky and experienced physical pain! I admit I ate a lot of junk, but it just goes to show that my body is used to and likes clean foods…junk is no longer welcome!

The Bikini Competition has brought a new passion into my life. I have met some amazing people and created some new friendships and connections that I treasure greatly! It has brought my passion for fitness and nutrition to a whole new level that has actually encouraged me to pursue my Personal Training Certification. And there’s no doubt in my mind, I will compete again! It’s not a matter of winning either (although if I ever place that will bring on a whole new high I’m sure!!). I’m going to do it, because I love doing it and it makes me happy!

Bikini Tall Category Photo Credit: Liana Saadi Photography

2 Responses to “She wore an Itsy-Bitsy-Teeny-Weeny Black Polka-Dot Bikini!!”

  1. Bonzi January 2, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    Sherie,
    You remain my biggest inspiration. I loved your genuine account of your experiences, it’s such a joy to read the world through your eyes.

    Congrats on your huge achievement Sherie, you looked epic in your bikini. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing. x

  2. ThriftyatTwenty January 12, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    WOW! I really enjoyed reading about your journey, and your competition pictures look so great! As a coach, you inspire me to stay motivated and reach my goals. I can’t wait to see what training others has in store for you! Off to drink some Shakeology and do some cardio now :p

Leave a comment